Thanks for the feedback on my first post. I got a nearly unanimous “keep this name”, so SuperCraftiFragilistic this blog shall stay!

And today, if you haven’t tried it before, I shall show you a simple way to cook one of my favorite foods I discovered as a vegetarian: tempeh. It’s basically fermented soybeans stuck together, and it has a more hearty, complex flavor and solid texture than tofu. Even if you don’t like tofu, I recommend giving this a try, at least once!

The way I typically make it is by sauteing it and adding soy and/or teriyaki sauce – super simple. The other day I decided to make a quick meal by breaking out my brand new rice cooker and have tempeh and rice.

First, I stuck some brown rice into my rice cooker, added water to the line it told me to, stuck the lid on and watched it be cute and nifty for a while.

Then, I heated up about 3 tablespoons of oil in a non-stick skillet on medium-high heat, sliced my tempeh-cake into half inch slices, and placed it in there to start cooking.

Finally, I poured a bunch of soy sauce over them, at least a few drops to cover each one, to give it more flavor. It only needs to be cooked 2-3 minutes on each side, and then you’re done!

I added my brown rice (which I forgot actually needs more water than white rice, so the rice cooker lied to me, but it was edible) and ate it. Tempeh-ting! (heehee)

Tempeh is really versatile – I love it with a bit of mayo on sandwiches, with various dips and sauces, in a stir-fry, and I’ve even eaten it just on its own a few times.

And now we have… a poll about tempeh!

