I found this tutorial on Film Candle Holders and thought it was a great idea. I don’t have any film negatives anymore with the digital age, but I did like another idea they had about printing off pictures using vellum paper, which is a translucent kind of paper. So, I found some vellum paper at the craft store, along with a couple little candle holders, and got my supplies together. This was simpler than I thought it would be – the hardest part for me was figuring out how to get the right size of photo printed.

To do this, you will need:

  • A black-and-white landscape photo
  • Vellum paper
  • Tape measure
  • Votive holder
  • Tea light or tiny candle to fit in holder
  • Double-stick tape
  • Computer and Printer

To start, I gathered my initial supplies:

Image

I measured my votive holder with the measuring tape to see how big my photo should be. I printed out a photo (of me in London that I had made black and white) on the vellum paper, cut it out, and stuck double-stick tape on both ends of the paper.
Image

I then attached one end of the picture to the votive holder, wrapped it around, and attached the second end. I stuck a tea light in, and this is the finished product:
Image

I like how it turned out, considering how easy it was. I’m sure it would look even better with a better quality photo and laser printer. This is the only one I’ve made so far, but I plan on making at least one more. I haven’t decided what picture I will use yet – maybe pretty flowers, or something more geeky. This would also be a great gift with photos of kids for parents or grandparents.

