I’ve been wanting a DSLR camera ever since my photography tour in London in March, where I learned a few of the cool things they could do and felt like my little, older camera was inferior. I loved it and it was very portable, but I wanted to step up to the big leagues. And so the other day, I went out and bought this thing!

Image

It actually came with that nice camera bag, which I’m sure will come in handy at some point. And of course the above photo was taken with my relatively crappy camera phone, which I have been using on the blog thus far – the next couple of posts will be with my phone camera as well, but soon they will have better photos. You can compare with the first few pictures I took with the lovely Canon:

My kitty cat, Jasmine.

I thought this looked kinda like a tornado.

I came across a tiny baby bird that looked like it had fallen out of the tree and couldn’t fly back up! Poor little thing!

All the different settings on this fascinating gadget were kind of overwhelming at first, but I am determined to gradually learn more about it and get the hang of the manual mode. If anyone with experience has tips, I’d be happy to hear if there’s anything important/useful I should know, or something you’ve learned that you wish you had known right away. I’m loving it so far, but I have a ways to go!

