Something about making homemade versions of store-bought candy bars intrigues me. I am curious to see how similar to the brand name they are, and if the fresh homemade kind may be even better. So when I saw three-ingredient butterfinger bars, I wanted to try them. I combined the recipes on Plain Chicken and Tasty Kitchen to make my own.

Based on the sizes of bags I could find at the grocery store, here is the food I used:

  • 12 oz bag of candy corn (you can often still find this in the candy isle… ah, I love candy corn)
  • 12 oz peanut butter
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

So first, I melted the candy corn in the microwave, stirring every thirty seconds or so until it was fully melted, close to this:

Then I stirred until the candy corn was liquidy and smooth. I took what I guessed to be about 12 oz of peanut butter, a little more than half my 18 oz jar of peanut butter:

And stirred it into the melted candy corn until it was all mixed together.

Then, I lined a medium oval baking dish with wax paper. (A square or rectangle dish would work a little better shape wise, but I left my appropriate sized square dish at a friend’s house, haha.) I put the filling into the dish and flattened it, then put it in the freezer for about 15-20 minutes until it was a little below room temperature and stiff enough to cut and dip. I cut it into bar-shaped pieces and used the parts that broke off during the process as bite-sized pieces.

Finally, it was time for dipping. I microwaved the chocolate chips in a new bowl, again stirring every 30 seconds, until they were gooey and easy to work with.

I then took each piece and rolled it around in the chocolate with a fork, making sure all sides were covered.

Finally, I tapped the fork on the side a few times to shake off excess chocolate

And put them on a baking sheet covered in waxed paper.

You can refrigerate or freeze them to speed up the hardening process, or just let them sit overnight.

They were delicious! Very much like a Butterfinger bar with the sugary peanutty flavor, but a different texure – softer and smoother on the inside, so it doesn’t get stuck in your teeth much if at all like the store-bought kind does. I actually like these better. I gave them to a few friends and coworkers, and everyone enjoyed them. As far as the process, as with many dipped candies, the hardest and most time-consuming part was the dipping part, but it was overall still pretty easy. It was worth it to me. 🙂

