I know I’ve been away for a while – I tend to get into something like crafting for a while and then turn my attention to something else (like games or tv or traveling), and come back to it later. But I have some new stuff to show you guys!

Ever have problems telling whether the dishes are dirty or clean? The boyfriend and I sometimes have trouble coordinating the dishes, especially since he washes them before putting them in the dishwasher. So when I saw this cute tutorial on making a sign for your dishwasher, I thought it was a great idea.

First, I tried the method in the tutorial – saved cottage cheese lids, printed out the awesome printable the original poster made onto cardstock, cut them out and got the rest of my supplies together.

Image

I glued the magnet on the backside of one lid and the lids to each other with hot glue.

Image

However, when I tried to put it on the dishwasher, my magnet wasn’t strong enough, and it kept falling off. So, I gave up on that altogether and just ended up Elmer’s gluing the clean/dirty pieces of cardstock together with the magnet between them, and it worked.

If you have a stronger magnet than me, feel free to try the lid method, since that would be a more durable sign. But hey, sometimes you just have to use trial-and-error and work with what you have. 🙂

