I’ve had plenty of crepes at restaurants, but until recently, I hadn’t tried them at home. So I recently acquired some crepes (which are hard to find ready-made) and tried a couple of fillings in them, both sweet and savory: creamy summer vegetable filling and strawberry cheesecake filling. I am also planning on trying my hand at my own crepes and more fillings, and I’ll soon share those with you, too!

I used these ready-to-eat crepes that I found at Whole Foods. They have a slightly sweet taste, but they were still good with this more savory filling. They apparently came from France, because there is very little English on the whole package!

Pre-Made Crepes

Summer Veggie Crepes

I think there are a bunch of different vegetables that could be used here (like different types of squash), but I stuck with zucchini and corn, a couple of my favorites. I would probably add more veggies if I were to make it again.

Ingredients:

  • pre-made crepes
  • 1/3 cup reduced-fat sour cream
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh chives
  • 3 tablespoons low-fat milk (or soymilk)
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2 cups chopped zucchini
  • Optional: 1 1/4 cups chopped green beans (I don’t like green beans, but if you like them, you can totally add them)
  • 1 cup fresh corn kernels (from a fresh ear of corn)
  • 1 cup part-skim ricotta cheese or cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded Monterey Jack or other mild cheese

First, stir the sour cream, 1/4 cup chives, soymilk, lemon juice, and 1/4 teaspoon salt in a small bowl until combined.

Zucchini Cream Filling for Crepes

Chop up the zucchini and slice off the corn kernels, and sautee them on medium heat 5-10 minutes until they begin to brown.

Sauteeing ZucchiniReduce heat to low (I turned mine off since my stove is electric) and stir in ricotta or cottage cheese, other mild cheese (I used a mix of several), the remaining 1/4 cup chives, and the remaining 1/2 teaspoon salt. Stir until cheese is melted.

Creamy Zucchini Filling for Crepes

Scoop a small amount of the filling into a crepe. Since they are so thin, it can help to put some wax paper down to make them easier to roll, but I did away with this tactic after the first couple.

Rolling a Crepe with Zucchini Filling

Rolling a Crepe with Zucchini Filling

Finally, add a couple tablespoons of the sour cream sauce to the top of each crepe, and voila!

Summer Vegetable Crepes

Strawberry Cheesecake Crepes

These are really easy to make and quite sweet – I was actually enjoying the filling by itself a little too much. 🙂

  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 1/4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup heavy cream, whipped (I substituted milk for healthiness, which made it much thinner, but it was still good)
  • 4 cups sliced strawberries

First, slice the strawberries – yum.

Slicing Fresh Strawberries

Next, blend or whisk the cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar, lemon juice, and vanilla until smooth. Gently fold in the whipped cream if using it, or add the milk if going with the healthier version (which is still not totally healthy due to all the sugar 🙂
Cream Cheese Crepe Filling

Add some sliced strawberries and cream cheese inside the crepe, roll it up, and add some more on the outside.

Strawberry Cream Cheese Crepes

What kinds of fillings do you like in crepes?

