I love making lists. I have a ton of them on listgeeks.com. I was probably around 14 when I made my first list of things I wanted to do in life, and I have been mentally adding and crossing things off for a decade now. I recently found my old one and it looks something like this, with my completed items crossed off:

  • travel overseas
  • ride an airplane
  • ride a train
  • go to Florida
  • go to England
  • meet Julie Andrews
  • go to California
  • go to New York
  • go skydiving
  • go on a cruise

I have been able to do a lot of the things I wanted to do in the last ten years. Just this week I spent a few days in New York City and met my favorite celebrity, singer/actress/writer Julie Andrews, at a book signing for her new children’s book, which crossed off two things! I no longer want to go skydiving, as I floated in a crazy skydiving simulator and I’ve gone bungee jumping and looved it. I have a trip planned to California in a few months. And a cruise will probably happen in the next couple of years.

me at the top of the Franz Josef Glacier in New Zealand

A few months ago I wrote out an updated list of all the things I want to do now, and since then I rode in a hot air balloon and met Julie soon after seeing a Broadway show. As you can see, much of it involves traveling, exploring, and trying new things.

  • meet Julie Andrews
  • re-visit New Zealand
  • move to a different country
  • live on the US West Coast
  • ride in a hot air balloon
  • ride a motorcycle
  • visit Japan
  • go skinnydipping
  • visit a real, old castle
  • visit Toronto
  • see a Broadway show in NYC
  • go on a cruise
  • go scuba diving or snorkeling
  • marry the love of my life
  • try skiing
  • visit the Louvre
  • ride in a horse-drawn carriage
  • see a movie at a drive-in theater
  • kiss in the rain
  • make a souffle
  • Go on the Sound of Music tour in Salzburg
  • see Julie Andrews’s star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame
  • ride over the Golden Gate Bridge
  • go on a road trip with no predetermined destination
  • lie out on a nude beach
  • go parasailing
  • try a raw, vegan food diet for a week
  • go waterskiing

Manhattan skyline at sunset

I am looking forward to doing all this over the years, adding more items and crossing them off. And now I have a poll for today, as I am curious…

