Bloody Glass Cupcakes

What better way to celebrate Halloween than by eating some bloody broken glass? I made some for my office Halloween pitch-in. I didn’t take pictures along the way this time because I wasn’t sure how well they’d turn out, but I do want to show them to you and give some tips in case you’d like to make some yourself.

This idea came from Martha Stewart, but I didn’t use much of the recipe. I just used a box of strawberry cake mix and pre-made cream cheese frosting for simplicity, which is good because the candy glass part ended up being fairly time-consuming for me. The recipe for “caramel glass” on Martha’s site didn’t seem super dependable, so I went with this one for candy glass on eHow using corn syrup, sugar, water, and vanilla. I could only find corn syrup tinted slightly yellow, though, so my glass is yellowish. It would be even cooler if it was totally colorless.

The recipe walks step by step through mixing together the ingredients, boiling them in a pot, using a candy thermometer to wait until it reaches 300 degrees… but I wasn’t prepared for how quickly the temperature would rise after it reached about 250. I turned around for a minute or two to mix my cupcakes, and suddenly my candy was burning! That was a huge mess. The second time, I kept a constant watch on the thermometer for the last twenty minutes, and it came out great. All I had to do once it hit the magic temperature was pour it onto a non-stick cookie sheet. I waited for it to cool overnight, and in the morning, I dropped the sheet on the floor to shatter it into pieces. If I had a mallet, I probably would’ve used that to break it up.

Bloody Glass Cupcakes

Once I assembled my baked and frosted cupcakes, I stuck the pieces of glass in and drizzled a bit of strained cherry preserves on each one. They turned out quite yummy, too, and were a hit at game night with my friends, getting a couple of people a sugar rush from eating a bunch of glass, which is really pure sugar.

I also brought some to work for our Halloween pitch-in and competed with my coworker Melissa’s adorably spooky creations.

